The people-pleasing game

#30 on feeling good, authenticity, meeting community members

Hey 2,700+ friends, it’s Hannah here from Quoted Visually 🤍

How are you? I’ve decided simple is best so I’m going back to a refined version of this newsletter and will share an insight, image and update. Let’s go ⤵︎

We’ve all been there. At certain points in our lives, we can find ourselves seeking approval or validation from others.

Social media is no help. Naturally, we curate what we share online and so we should. But where do we draw the line?

  1. Not everything goes well all the time, so sometimes our online persona will contrast with how we feel inside. This can feel icky!

  2. On the other hand, we can also feel the need to try to live up to this online avatar of ourselves that we’ve created.

But the bottom line is, we can't control how other people will perceive us so we will never win trying to please others.

“An online profile of your best friend is not your best friend.

A status update about a day in the park is not a day in the park. And the desire to tell the world about how happy you are, is not how happy you are”

- Matt Haig

I found that authenticity can be our superpower.

When we show up as we are, without putting on any kind of filter or front, we accept ourselves for who we are, and invite other people to do the same.

Ironically, we look good, when we feel good.

And the energy we emit, when we live in alignment with our values can be infectious. Focus on feeling good from the inside out!

🗞️ Update

As usual, we have a lot to catch up on:

  • From doing my first in-person podcast 🎙️

  • To hitting £10K in revenue from my course 🤯

  • To meeting my first course community member

  • And, going out-of-office for 1 month!

Funded by a big ol' freelance project earlier this year, I've taken the bold move to go on an adventure without my laptop. As you read this, I will be in Sri Lanka and probably holding my mini-fan close to my face 🤣

It’s something I feel the NEED to do whilst I still have minimal responsibilities.

Because recently, I’ve felt far too comfortable, and whenever I’ve felt this way before, changing my environment has always been the answer.

This last month has been manic. I packed my bags in record time, 2 weeks early, but I had to be organised because scheduling posts ahead of time is a huge task.

It's ironic that to let ourselves have time off, we often feel the need to double our workload before we leave. So why did I do it?

Well, last year, I dreamed of having a course to be able to sell when I am away.

This year, I made that a reality

Now, the challenge is on. Can I onboard new students to the Quoting Ideas Visually course members whilst I'm away?

It’s not passive. I am on hand to reply to my community members and support them. But I want to share the journey because if I can do it, then you can too!

So I’ll leave you with 3 things:

  1. A really kind review that made me jump out of my seat with excitement from award-willing author Harvey Lee ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ ⤵︎

  1. A pic with one of my community members, Morag, who flew from across the pond. It’s certainly a *pinch-me* moment and one for the memory book. She hosted an informal meetup with her connections in London ⤵︎

  2. Know that you’ll see the fruits of my big ol’ freelance project in December 2024 - gonna be HUGE 👀

That’s a wrap! Reply to this email if you have any questions, requests or feedback. I will respond when I’m back at the end of August. Made with Beehiiv (aff link) 🐝 

Big love,

Quoted Visually: Instagram | Twitter | LinkedIn | My website

Join the Quoting Ideas Visually course and community here

Reply

or to participate.