We can't do everything at once

#29 on overconsumption, showing up in person, and 40+ students!

Hey 2,410+ friends, it’s Hannah here! Welcome back 🤍

I’ve contemplating some big decisions lately so I haven’t written to you as often as I’d like, but let’s normalise these crossroads. It means we are growing ⤵︎

1. On overconsumption

I am guessing you, like me, are always trying to level up.

But with so much content out there to consume, it is easy to fall into the trap of consuming more information than we can ever apply.

We find ourselves feeling smart listening to dozens of podcasts, binge-watching YouTube videos or reading non-fiction books, always learning, yet hardly employing any of the changes in our own lives.

We stay the same person. We don’t level up. We just massage our egos.

But any one of these pieces of content alone could change our lives if we give it the space to do so.

I urge you to break the cycle of endless consumption:

  • Consume → Consume → Consume → Consume → Consume

  • Consume → Apply → Consume → Apply → Consume

It’s in the process of accepting our limitations, that we start to make progress.

We stop trying to do everything all at once and in a human way, we start focusing on one thing at a time.

Bit by bit, our patience pays off and the small changes compound.

We craft a new life for ourselves by letting go of the need to consume almost everything else and focusing on the few things in front of us. Depth over breath!

2. On showing up in person

I popped into London for Alice Benham’s book tour. She’s written a beautiful book full of visuals called “The Digital Marketing Handbook.”

I’ve realised how powerful it can be to attend these events and show our faces.

But it’s more than just about attending the talk or panel event, half the value is in networking, that is, biting the bullet and going up to people we admire to introduce ourselves and heck, complimenting them.

We may only have short conversations, but these interactions can sew the seeds for future opportunities. Every time those people see our posts online, they now have that personal interest in our journey.

By showing up in person, we can put ourselves/ businesses on their radar! 

3. On Quoted Visually

No kidding, we’ve reached 40+ students in the Quoting Ideas Visually course now which feels like a huge milestone 🤯

I’ve been offering calls with my early adopters and it’s been very energising, so much so that I’ve realised, with all this online stuff, I don’t see people enough.

AND all of a sudden, I find myself yearning to be part of a team and so hence the big re-think. I am exploring my options now for this!!

What else am I up to:

  • The new Quoted Visually website is live - woo! This is after I cut my losses and ditched an expensive website template for a free one.

  • My collabs with Dr Christian Busch have started going live 🎯

  • Seriously thinking about my email strategy. I know I need to put more attention into it to spread the word about my course and the harsh truth as a biz owner is that sending 1 email every 2-3 weeks is not going to cut it 🤣

  • Might switch newsletter platforms - Beehiiv (the one I use) is amazing, but once I hit 2,500 subs it costs to run. ConvertKit now has a ‘free until 10,000 subs’ plan, so it is serious food for thought!

  • Lastly, I can’t believe this but my bags are packed!! In 2 weeks, I will be taking a month off to travel. With a business to run, it is requiring an insane level of organisation to make it all happen ✈️

And breathe… what’s on your plate this month?

That’s a wrap! Feel free to reply to this email if you have any questions, requests or feedback. I will respond at my earliest opportunity. Made with Beehiiv 🐝 (aff link).

Big love,

Quoted Visually: Instagram | Twitter | LinkedIn | My website

Reply

or to participate.