Harness the power of writing

#24 on brain dumping, journalling, community support and role models

Hey 1,840+ friends, it’s Hannah here from Quoted Visually!

This past week has been intense for me, lots of good stuff, but also a personal loss, that said, I still wanted to uphold my commitment to get this out to you, let’s go 👇🏻

1. On brain dumping

Gah, it’s so easy to (excuse the pun) write ourselves off, and decide that we are no good at writing, but writing things down doesn’t have to be about the OUTCOME.

We don’t need to write best-selling books.

It can be about the PROCESS.

The act of brain dumping, free writing, if you will, helps us capture what we are thinking and when we capture something, it becomes tangible.

If it’s tangible we can analyse it from a distance.

With distance, we get perspective, which brings insight.

But ironically, we only get these insights if we’ve created the space to think, by writing down our thoughts, instead of keeping them all in our heads!!

So if your mind is busy, like mine, quiet down the noise by letting everything flow out, and in turn, you’ll tease out the answers to your biggest challenges 📝🧠

2. On journalling

“Journal writing, when it becomes a ritual for transformation, is not only life-changing, but life-expanding.”

- Jennifer Williamson

“Writing is more then a vehicle for communicating ideas. It’s a tool for crystallising ideas …One of the best paths to sharper thinking is frequent writing.”

- Adam Grant

3. On community support

This week, I hopped on a LinkedIn live with the amazing Roberto Ferraro.

In our open and human conversation, we spoke about how integral community support has been in growing our networks online and in finding meaning.

P.s. past Hannah would have found this very uncomfortable. I urge you to put yourself out there too, the feeling is expansive.

4. On role models

*Personal story coming, please read with care*

They say we are the average of the 5 people we spend time with.

But I suggest that it takes rubbing shoulders with only 1 ambitious person to completely transform the trajectory of our lives.

I HAVE SEEN IT IN MY DAD!

His best friend of 35+ years has done all kinds of crazy things, like climbing Mount Everest and summiting the peak next to it right away 🏔️

And, in turn, my dad has faced some huge adventures head-on, like:

  • Cycling across America 🚲

  • Walking across the Greenland Icecap

  • Flying around the world 🌍

  • And sailing the Atlantic twice.

It’s all quite INCREDIBLE right? And he’s only just getting started.

An old pic with my dad

Both my dad and his friend, have been the driving force for many of my endeavours, which you are benefiting from now as you read this!!

But my dad just tragically lost his buddy.

In the immense heartache, I’ve reflected on my experience of being lucky enough to have this key person of influence in my life:

  • We never know the true influence of another person on us until they are gone and whilst we lose their companionship, we never stop being influenced by them. They are in our every action ❤️

  • Having strong people in our lives is the difference between going with the current and going against the current.

  • Often, the key people of influence aren’t those who we see every day, or heck, every year, but those whose paths we cross with on occasion.

  • Because it’s less about being in the same room as them, and more about being in the same network. They set the bar high for us and often don’t realise the height of their influence.

I urge you, if there is somebody you admire, tell them today!

5. On Quoted Visually

*Breathe*

The day before launching the Quoting Ideas Visually course, an exciting freelance project landed in my lap. I feel empowered by this experience because:

  1. We have a tight turnaround, but instead of overcommitting to an impossible project, we got multiple visual creators on board!!

  2. I pitched my worth and had my offer accepted, but my bold approach has not only benefited me but my friends too. It’s an incredible feeling.

If you too share the same excitement about the difference we can all make with visuals and want to invite opportunities like this to your door, consider joining my course. The discounted beta spots are nearly full 🤯

Here’s what people are saying:

That’s a wrap! It’s been a heavy one, but I don’t want to shy away from difficult topics. In the pain, there is strength.

Feel free to reply to this email if you have any questions, requests or feedback. I will respond at my earliest opportunity. Made with Beehiiv 🐝

Big love,

Quoted Visually: Instagram | Twitter | LinkedIn | My website

Join the conversation

or to participate.