Spot the opportunities

#18 on the drivers seat, looking for the good, being lost and community support

Hey 1,310+ friends, it’s Hannah here from Quoted Visually!

Welcome to another issue of Floating Thoughts where I share an insight, image and personal update. The first one of 2024 🎉

Regardless of how the year has started, we’ll all suffer and struggle with something at some point in 2024.

You might think, well “that’s a depressing thought Hannah”

But it doesn’t have to be.

Because struggles are opportunities in disguise.

The driver’s seat

After taking space to acknowledge and process what comes our way this year.

We can sit firmly back in the driver’s seat by asking:

  • How is this happening *for* me?

  • Where is this taking me?

Because whilst it might feel cathartic to wallow in self-pity, it doesn’t put us in a place of empowerment.

But when we actively look for the good.

We spot the opportunities, regardless of the pain, because we’ve tuned into looking for them.

We know that there is energy to be harnessed.

We can choose to channel the frustration we have into something beneficial, to transform our lives for the better.

Or we can stay frustrated, going round and round in circles, and getting in the way of our progression.

The choice is ours to make.

As Simon Sinek reminds us:

“We are not victims of our situation. We are the architects of it.”

🗞️ Update

I’m exhausted but my cup has been replenished 🎄☃️🏔️

I celebrated Christmas with my family and then skied my heart out in the French Alps…

📍 Flaine, France

I played mother hen, teaching my friend to ski and cooking up the meals - we went self-catered.

It was bliss. A week laptop-free, doing something for my soul.

But it’s hard to quantify how much it meant to me.

This is the intangible stuff that matters! Because “not everything that counts can be counted” - Albert Einstein.

Time out over the break

So many questions

Recently, I have been telling myself “I’m lost” a lot but I have noticed that this is unhelpful.

✨ I AM NOT LOST!

There are just a few things to figure out and there is excitement in the unknown.

I want to join a creative team (aka get a job) and maybe I allow myself to feel less daunted about this and more excited. Just a thought 💭

Since I got back, I have been journalling loads and asking myself all kinds of huge questions.

  • What are my core values?

  • What is my wider mission?

  • What do I believe I am good at?

  • What do I enjoy doing the most?

  • Are there any negative beliefs that I need to squash?

  • What core topics do I talk about?

  • What are my content pillars?

  • How can I evolve the way I show up online?

  • What problems do I solve?

  • Who can I help?

  • What do I want to be known for?

Many of these have been prompted by conversations with other creators or by coaches in programs.

Community support

I can’t stress enough - we can’t solve these things on our own.

We need community support to muddle through the chaos and confusion that each stage of our journey brings.

Asking for support from the people who know how to help us, does not take away from what we are doing. We are still strong and independent.

It just pulls us away from the self-destructive and individualistic mindset of ‘I have to build this on my own’.

Because we don’t need to sit on our own at home suffering in silence.

Many people are willing to help and get excited to see us progress.

Our situations are individual, but our problems are shared so we might as well help each other.

I’d love to know:

➡️ How are you getting support this year? 🙏 

➡️ What kinds of questions are you asking yourself?

👉🏻 What’s next

I am preparing the Quoting Ideas Visually course. Sign up to the waitlist to help me make it suited to you!

The shop, I’m making some planners next. There are a handful of 2024 calendars left, get yours here. Use the code: Closefriends10 👀

I am prioritising meeting people in real life, starting with the one and only Michael Boorman from Wisdom Made Easy. I’ll share about it soon ❤️

That’s a wrap. Thanks for being here!

Feel free to reply to this email if you have any questions, requests or feedback. I will respond at my earliest opportunity.

Big love,

Hannah aka Quoted Visually x

Join the conversation

or to participate.