'I do what I say I do'

Floating Thoughts 012

Hey 1,130+ friends, it’s Hannah here from Quoted Visually!

If you are new here, welcome to another issue of Floating Thoughts where I share an insight, image and personal update.

Only today's issue is different, I have a very special announcement 🎊

This is not a drill...

As this email rolls in, the Quoted Visually shop is opening its doors for pre-orders!

You can now get your hands on the 2024 wall calendars and only this year they are bigger and better than ever, boasting to-do lists, habit trackers and a bonus goal-setting spread!

🚨 Since you are here, I am offering you 10% off with the code Closefriends10

And did I mention that I am shipping them to you myself?

Yes, I know, that makes me slightly crazy, but I have made a commitment to myself to see this project through.

The commitments we make to ourselves when nobody is watching matter.

We are building that muscle of ‘I do what I say I do’.

Trusting the process

I am not holding back.

The hours are clocking up. I could easily have written this project off by now. I could have could have said it’s not worth it financially. I could have said silly idea.

But I didn’t.

I’ve kept going, why?

Because I trust that the pursuit is worthwhile.

In the end, it is not *just* about making money.

It’s about the lessons we get to learn. The mistakes we get to make.

It’s that sense of fulfilment we get when we contribute to the world. It’s about seeing things through and facing those difficult things in front of us head-on.

And, because if it was *only* about the money, I wouldn’t be self-employed.

Thinking long term

If we are so focused on the short-term gains, we miss the long-term gains.

You see, if the shop flops it flops and I’ll be onto the next challenge, sharing with you the lessons and failures. But if it succeeds, it is only the start 🚀

My goal is to have a range of stationery products and motivational prints.

Products for your home or office to help you action the things that I talk about in my visuals.

So this is why I am taking this project seriously.

It is easy to belittle our pursuits in the beginning, before they are something.

Don’t!

And, if our next project doesn’t scare us slightly, then we are playing it too safe.

Imagine being in exactly the same place in a year’s time. Scary huh? 😬

“The people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world are the ones who do.”

- Steve Jobs

Sweating the small stuff 

Finally, give yourself permission to sweat the small stuff.

The small things become *the thing* that separates us from our competitors.

In the moment, sweating one tiny detail can feel pointless. But when we sweat many small details, they compound in our favour 🥞

That is why I got fussy with the details for the Quoted Visually 2024 calendars.

  • I’ve chosen the thickest paper available and manually tweaked the colours to make them print as vibrant as possible.

  • The grids themselves have all the bells and whistles to make them actually useful for planning and prioritisation.

  • I've sampled 25+ different packaging options to find the sturdiest, most affordable, eco-friendly option, that fits in the Large Letter size... tell me about it 🫠

The huge box of samples at my house

So many decisions and logistical tasks for a silly little calendar! 📦 📩

Only it is *not silly* and it is *not little*...

So if you are keen, get your calendar early, I will throw in a *free print* of an illustration worth £14 with your order!

And take 10% off your calendar: Closefriends10

You can also get your hands on other illustration prints and if you buy 3, you’ll get 1 free, automatically applied at checkout!

🗞️ Update

How is it all working behind the scenes?

I got back into freelance projects this month and this has given me financial comfort to pursue this shop and all it brings knowing that all my earnings aren’t gambled in ‘one’ place.

My good ol’ mum has been helping me out with the Shopify set-up. There is so much for one person to do, especially when it comes to understanding the shipping.

But also to my frustration, ‘my anxiety’ has just started presenting itself in a new way - panic breathing.

I was lowkey aware of it before but taking a well-intentioned breathing masterclass to learn more completely triggered me!

I’ll share more of my situation another time because there are so many lessons here, but I just wanted to remind you that:

Those people you see, who look like they have it all, they also have mental health. Don’t assume theirs is perfect all the time! They are human.

  • You can work on yourself and push yourself with work.

  • You can both be struggling and succeeding at once.

  • You are more resilient than you think.

  • You’ve always made it through your worst struggles.

  • What happened in the past, doesn’t have to keep happening in the future.

We can work to write a different narrative. Our thoughts quite literally create our reality. Feel empowered to help yourself.

Anyways, nuff about me, I hope you’re good. Let me know if you are getting a calendar. It would make my day ❤️

That’s a wrap. Thanks for being here!

Feel free to reply to this email if you have any questions, requests or feedback. I will respond at my earliest opportunity.

Big big love,

Hannah aka Quoted Visually x

Reply

or to participate.